Skip to main content

EMBracing the Ocean commitee


EMBracing the Ocean Committee

The EMBracing the Ocean Committee are responsible for evaluating applications and selecting the awardees. Committee members also work together to develop the EMBracing the Ocean programme and advise awardees on the development of their work. The Committee members for 2023 - 2024 are: 


Britt Alexander (Chair) is a Science Officer at the EMB Secreteriat in Belgium. Her work involves facilitation of EMB's science-policy expert working groups, including editing and communication activities. She also participates in EU projects including the EU's International Ocean Governance Forum and BRIDGE Black Sea. She previously worked at the the open-access journal Frontiers in Marine Science and has a PhD in marine sponge physiology and ecology.



Yves-Marie Paulet is a Marine Biologist, professor at the University de Bretagne Occidentale (UBO Brittany-France). He was a Delegate of the European Marine Board from 2011 - 2021, reprenseting the French Marine Universities network, and vice-Chair for three years. He is now the alternate French representative of the French Marine Universities network. For six years he was Director of the European Institute for Marine Sciences (IUEM, Brest) and since 2016 the Vice-President of UBO in change of maritime affairs.




Mette Mila is a Senior Advisor at the Research Council of Norway's Ocean Secretariat, member of European Marine Board Communication Panel, and member of Ocean Decade Communication Advisory Board. She is experienced within communication and science communication in the fields of ocean, climate and polar research, and has experience evaluating similar calls nationally.





Chris Fremantle is a researcher and producer focused on the roles of artists in public life, in particular in health and environment. He lectures at Gray’s School of Art, Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, Scotland. He chairs the Ramsar Culture Networks’ Arts Focus Group and is advising a number of research-led arts projects including Ocean ARTic and AALERT. He established ecoartscotland in 2010 as a node in the ecoart community.